Skip to content

As child tax rebate deadline approaches, activists call for an extension

With the deadline for families to apply for the child tax credit just days away, activists are calling for an extension to allow more time for families to apply for the one-time tax rebate of up to $750. Eligible families have until July 31st to apply to receive the rebate of $250 per child, but the Fairfield chapter of Action Together Connecticut is calling for a 60-day extension to allow more people to access the help.

“Office of @GovNedLamont, @CTSenateDems @CTHouseDems, [please] do what you can to extend the application period for the Child Tax Credit by 60 days.” the group tweeted out. “Many people still don’t know about it. Those that don’t are the folks who need it the most. #Extendthehelp.”

Black Lives Matter 860 (BLM860) quoted tweeted the tweet, urging people to contact their state representatives to advocate for an extension of the deadline.

“Please contact your state reps. Most people in Hartford we polled heard it via social media from family or word of mouth. They have not heard it on the news, etc. Only about half of eligible families have applied,” BLM860 tweeted.

Yesterday, Governor Lamont’s office sent out a press release as a reminder that the deadline was approaching and urged families to apply before the July 31st deadline. 

“We created this state tax rebate to give Connecticut families with children some additional relief,” Governor Lamont said. “State law requires the application period to close on July 31. I strongly urge all families who claimed at least one dependent child on their federal income tax return to submit an application as soon as possible so that this rebate can be sent to you with no delays.”

To qualify for the tax rebate, you must be a Connecticut resident, you must have claimed at least one child as a dependent on your 2021 federal income tax return who was 18 years of age or younger and must meet certain income thresholds.

Single or married filing separately filers must meet an income threshold of $100,000 or less, head of household filers must make $169,000 or less and married couples that filed jointly must meet a $200,000 or less requirement. Those who have higher income rates may be eligible to receive a reduced rebate based on their income, according to the governor’s office.

Gov. Lamont’s office did not respond to an inquiry about if they would consider extending the deadline.

Those interested in applying before the deadline can find the application here.

News & Investigations Straight To Your Inbox

Name
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Subscribe

"*" indicates required fields

Name
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Tom Hopkins

A national, award-winning journalist from Bristol, Tom has a passion for writing. Prior to joining CII, he worked in print, television, and as a freelance journalist. He has taken deep dives into sexual assault allegations by Connecticut professors, uncovered issues at state-run prisons, and covered evictions in the New Britain Herald. He chose to focus on issues based in Connecticut because this is his home, and this is where he wants his work to make the greatest impact.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.